The Complaining Lifestyle (part 1) “the victim”

I hold the current title for Champion Complainer; and I am good and ready to relinquish that “honor.”  Complaining is the “default” for many of us as we react to situations that routinely arise in life.  “It’s so hot/cold/windy/drizzly/cloudy/sunny outside today.”  “I can’t believe the lines are so long in the store today.”  “My mother/spouse/kid/friend drives me crazy.”  “If someone interrupts me one more time… grrrr!”  You get the idea.    For years and years I’ve been hoping and attempting (unsuccessfully) to break the habit.

But now, prayerfully and determinedly, I am fighting on to defeat Complaining!  In order to do this, I have been doing a lot of studying, thinking, praying and researching.  This little blog series will share what I’m learning.

POINT ONE:  most complaining originates with feeling annoyed/frustrated/angry over things which adversely affect my ideal sense of how I want things to be.  In other words, I don’t get my own way.  People don’t act how I think they should.  Situations inconvenience me.  People or circumstances cause me to be less than comfortable and happy.  Well, guess what?  THE UNIVERSE DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND ME AND MY COMFORT.  Life just doesn’t work that way.  But complaining is my way of pointing out every daggone thing that doesn’t suit me.  How pathetic.  This one factor alone is enough to make me want to stop complaining– I want to get rid of the “weak victim” mentality that comes with complaining.  No more “poor me!”

 

Stay tuned for Part 2…

 

5 thoughts on “The Complaining Lifestyle (part 1) “the victim”

  1. Yay Liza Jane is back!! I’ve missed you! And this is certainly something I’ve been trying to work on too. I attempted to by just zipping my lips instead of saying it. But guess what? Then it’s all stuck inside – Yikes and Yuck!! Now I’m on to trying to replace it with gratitude. It’s not going so well yet. lol

Leave a comment